Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Snowy Pentlands, Sunday Bike Ride

Another cold day today. I was hopeful of a nice ride today as the roads were dry when I got up. There was a small snow shower while I was having breakfast, that didn't put me off. I did decide to do a shorter ride though.

I cycle up put to Auchendinny along the Seafield Moor Rd. No ice today, but it was just about 0. From Auchendinny, it was up to Mount Lothian, where there was a quite heavy snow shower. I pull my neck warmer up over my ears. The temperature drops below 0. The clouds did clear for a wee bit, enabling me to take the Extra below of the Moorfoot Hills.

The road along Gladhouse reservoir had quite a bit of snow in places. There was a small snow shower as I carry on North towards Yorkston. As I got near the turnoff for Outerston, three cyclists come up the hill towards me, 2 of them in shorts, 1 of them with pink legs.

I turn right and then left towards Temple, and then left back to Yorkston. Here I look to the road ahead, which I had just cycled down. This time, it was full of sheep being moved to a new field. I turn around, and head to Temple, and along the Bonnyrigg Rd to Carrington. Probably a good idea as there is a lot of tree cover. At Carrington, I head towards Rosewell. The wind is behind me. As I get near a farm, the Pentlands loom up. This shot across the fields, my blip, was the best one.

I have to head home from here though Roslin Glen. A long descent followed by a sharp ascent to Roslin, I take the back road towards Auchedinney, before back along the Seafield Moor Rd. Although its just above 0, it feels tropical compared to Mount Lothian. I get home, and I've done just over 50km, although it feels a lot further.

In the afternoon, I go down to Stockbridge. The wind is still very keen. Stockbridge is very quiet. I realise that its because Scotland are playing France in Paris, and also there's a Hearts - Hibs derby in the Scottish Cup. That's good, there's plenty of room in the café, away from the door of course.

Thanks to everyone for the good wishes on my 4 years of blipping on Saturday.

:^)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.