Spot the Kiwi music ref in this @hotelfred artwork

Long, long ago I persuaded Kiwi comics genius Roger Langridge to draw a series I'd written by the Judge Dredd Megazine. His artwork was the best thing about The Straitjacket Fits, a strip littered with references to NZ music of a certain vintage. This oddity stuck out like a sore thumb in a comic filled with the sturm und drang of future cop ultra-violence.

The Straitjacket Fits has never been reprinted, a commentary on my limited writing skills at the time and certainly not on Roger's amazing art. He's also one of the best letterers in the business, something for which he never gets enough credit in my humble opinion - I mean, just look at the work on the example above!

I bumped into Roger at the 2000AD 40th birthday bash in That Fancy London on Saturday and tried to buy a page of original art from The Straitjacket Fits. Instead he gave it to me as a gift, more proof of what a gent he is - thank you, Roger!

If you want to see more Langridge magic, I heartily recommend a visit to his website here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.