A hint of mist

Driving home after my visits to the dentist and the Crown decorators shop I was struck my the way the landscape was being softened by the mist.  It's not easy to stop on the busy Barnsley to Penistone road so I though I'd wait until I'd got to the top of the hill on our small lane (Pinfold Lane) and then pull into Eastfield Lane, which is what I did.  Unfortunately you can't see quite as far into the landscape and even though I walked a little way from the car I wasn't as happy with the view.  In the end I settled for this image with its stronger foreground view of the winter Dog Rose.

Just out of interest is Pinfold a peculiarly English naming or are Pinfold's found in other parts of the world.  My understanding of the word is that it originates in the Middle Ages as a place where stray animals could be secured in a pen.  I'm sure their owners must have needed to pay to get them back - perhaps a bit like wheel clamping!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.