Mandy's photo journal

By MandyO

Arachnophobia cure? - macro (no. 5)

The funny thing is I have had a 'fear' of spiders for as long as I can remember. I know arachnophobia is irrational, it is thought that 50% of women and 10% of men have a reaction to spiders - its not known if its instinctive or cultural (Wiki).
I think with me its more of a revulsion. I don't like the big ones, especially in the house and had no qualms about squashing them or sucking them up into the hoover (I still think that they can get out of the hoover to wreak their revenge on me).
But...my week of macro photography practice has slightly changed my attitude towards spiders. I've been reading tutorials about macro photgraphy, and there seems to be a code of conduct where a concientious effort is made towards minimum disturbance of the insects etc that are photographed.
This little guy was hiding in a fern and I had to get him out to photograph him properly. I felt a bit bad when I'd finished, and actually got him on a leaf and put him back where I found him - he seemed grateful.
Seeing them in macro - in such detail - makes you realise what intricate and fascinating creatures they are, and they probably deserve to live in peace on this planet as much we do (but not in my bedroom)...

If you want to live and thrive, let the spider run alive.
~American Quaker Saying~

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.