Monarch

Another glorious day.

As I'm meeting my sister in law and her husband at 5.00 in the fabulous Doca do Cavacas, I decided to spend the morning pottering in the gardens near the centre of Funchal.

I'd totally forgotten that the President's Garden, the Quinta Vigia, is closed at weekends so I headed straight for the Santa Catarina gardens. Stunning as ever, with shimmering light on the pools (even though the fountains were switched off.)

Monarchs have been passing me by this year, swooping, buzzing me and then skipping away. I reckoned I'd have the best chance if I found one resting, half hidden. I believe in fate. No sooner had I hatched the plan than I spotted this beauty. Thank you my friend.

Extra photos - would have been my blip if the Monarch hadn't asserted its majesty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.