The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Another collage from PhotoDirector

I attended a consultation event on the future of the Subscription Rooms (Sub rooms or Subs ), Stroud's largest and grandest performing and visual arts venue.

The top photo shows the Subs back in the day, when double decker buses still roamed the narrower streets of Stroud. The streets hadn't been widened for pedestrians at this point, needless to say. The middle shot shows the people attending at midday today. I had a few interesting conversations, but nothing is resolved as yet and won't be for a long while. The third shot is one I took by mistake, at an angle. I think it speaks of uncertainty.

I parted from my friend Gill and went shopping after the event. Best buy was two pairs of second hand trousers for a tenner in Razmachaz, the Stroud Supports Refugees charity shop.

When I got home, the sun came out and I went for a walk around Stroud new cemetery. It's about fifty yards from our house. I was surprised to see the grave of Enza C. She was the Italian neighbour of a friend of mine who passed away from cancer in 2011. They were both in their seventies. The odd thing was, I could have sworn that I'd seen Enza in Home Bargains a few weeks ago, but didn't actually speak to her. It was exactly the sort of place I'd expect to see her. Now I will never know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.