Hobbs's Run

By hobbs

Refracting Light #2

Here's the deal. I am sitting at my glass topped dining table peering directly out the glass sliding door at the end of the room with the afternoon sun streaming in. My camera is sitting on my rolled up neck strap, directly in front of me. A short distance away on the table surface  is a freshly cleaned wine glass with the vessel directly open to me and the lens (at macro setting) focussed onto the top of the stem.

When I first looked closely at the result I felt I could detect some faint imperfections in the material (phenomena that had been entirely invisible to me during the shoot). So before converting to mono I ran the image through Nik Detail Extractor. All of a sudden, a bunch of new (albeit subtle) refraction artefacts appeared. They say that glass is merely an ultra slow settling fluid. I am beginning to believe it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.