Moments to Remember

I remember about fifteen years ago walking in shirtsleeves through the skywalks of Minneapolis from my hotel to the Pillsbury Tower with -30C outside to work one on one with their strategy director on how to design and implement a new way of brand building for the entire Diageo plc group which, as well as Pillsbury (The Dough Boy, Gentle Green Giant etc.), also comprised Burger King, Guinness and the whole of United Distillers and Vinters.

John's office was on the top, 40th floor and covered half an acre. He often left me to work in it by myself and I recall thinking it was a moment to remember in my professional life.

Another one came along today, when a client sent his driver to sweep me out to his home at the start of the Alex. Desert Road which serves three generations of his family and sprawls over many hilltop acres. I passed through a maze of reception rooms with more sofas - many family antiques - than I could count on the fingers of my hands and toes combined before walking onto a veritable plaza complete with central pool. We sat under canopies at a large table with the view of the Pyramids you see above. A coaching first and professional moment to remember for me . . . goodness knows what the Pharoahs would have made of such activity!

The three-litre V6 Mercedes that whisked me home only got so far before the radiator blew and left us stranded beside the rubbish-grazing goats, city dogs, donkey carts and heavy-head-loaded women on the hard shoulder of the Alex. Desert Road. Quite the leveller.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.