My brush with Doris

I had a lovely evening last night, great food in Crystal Palace then a wonderful play. Today went to my meetings and headed back to Kings Cross around 2 pm.

The concourse was full and I soon discovered why. Doris had blown a shed onto the line somewhere after Stevenage and all trains were cancelled. At that point I settled in for some lunch and a long wait. Then a train was announced mad scramble and I am on a train to Aberdeen, hoping it stops in Doncaster. I get a seat, atmosphere redolent of the Blitz spirit, people talking and laughing like no one normally does. The train then slowly makes its way north. Over two hours to get to Peterborough at reduced speed. Normally my whole journey is 1:35 and eventually it quickens up and I got home in 3:30.

I took the blip in the train so please excuse the unwanted reflections but it captured the irony of the day with Doris gone and winds receding, the threatened snow nowhere to be seen and the sun shining.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.