Over Yonder

By Stoffel

Plain Jane Nana-Pants

My Dear Fellow,

Tonight is curry night, as well you know. In fact, everyone who has ever worked with me knows that Friday night is all about the poppadom.

And every week I'll ask Er Indoors what she would like and she always answers, "Chicken Korma, with a plain naan and boiled rice." I try to explore the menu, but Er Indoors has found her curry of choice and she does not deviate.

"Plain Jane Nana-Pants," says Lisa.

It's true though. At The Cambridge last night - a venue with a wide range of burger options - Er Indoors ordered the classic burger with chips. She wrinkled her nose at the thought of onion rings and openly mocked me for ordering The Big Pickle.

I suppose things balance out. I may be the more adventurous foodwise, but when it comes to clothes I have nothing on Er Indoors. Yesterday evening we were discussing her legendary Purple Leopardskin "Spice Girl" boots which went around the world with her in 2001. Lisa mocked those too. Then she tried them on, and promptly fell off them in the most spectacular fashion, wrecking her flat and taking out a Christmas tree in the process.

"It was terrifying," said Er Indoors. "I just saw this great @rse coming at me. My world went black."

So fashion adventures are not for everyone. They are certainly not for Lisa and me. 

Today I am wearing my favourite underpants. They are especially comfy for me having spent years breaking them in. The unfortunate thing is that Er Indoors wishes to push me out of my knicker comfort zone. I am sure I will go to the knicker drawer one day soon and find they have been disappeared. Sent to Y-front heaven. They will have been replaced by something new, scary and uncomfortable. Possibly with a designer label.

This happened recently when I found some "Bjorn Borg" knickers in there with the rest of my shreddies. I don't really see the point of them. It's not like Bjorn is ever going to see me prancing about in them*. And if he did, I expect he'd be horrified.

I see nothing wrong with staying where you are comfortable and eating what you know you like. I will allow Er Indoors her Korma and I shall HIDE my pants in the stationery drawer. 

I love familiarity. I love our Friday ritual. I can measure out my life in curries. Now there's a proud boast.

El P.

* When in knickers, I prance. It's a beautiful thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.