Gale Force 12 Beaufort

Flags flying!

Went to work, worked, went back home.  There weren't any traffic jams in the morning, although it was quite busy, but the situation late in the afternoon was an entirely different story.  A storm invaded our little country and it took two hours for me to get home.  Admittedly it wasn't as bad as yesterday, and I was mentally prepared, and so was hubby because I phoned him as usual before leaving the office, but the wind was so wild I could feel it lift up the car slightly as I drove on all the flyovers/viaducts and bridges on the way home.  There are quite a number of those structures because this is a land of water with some good infrastructure, so my little car almost got blown away.  At least, that is what it felt like.  I don't think I was the only one, judging from the average speed of the average-sized vehicles on the road with me.  Two wind-related accidents in the area of the Brienenoord Bridge made me detour through the city, and this was shot along the Maas Boulevard.  Was genuinely glad to see my front door when I finally got home.

MOOC-wise, started this week's (week 3) lectures on the European Discovery of China -- fascinating! -- all about Marco Polo's 17-year sojourn in the Mongolian court of Kublai Khan who had conquered, among other areas, China in the 13th century.  NCIS in between all that, and dinner.  Hubby surprised me with a Philippine soup! -- what we call 'sinigang', which is a sour soup.  I loved it!  He had discovered an old packet of 'sinigang' mix and followed the directions to the letter.  I felt as though I was enjoying a bowl of liquid gold.

Despite all that, it has been a long day and I'm just about to fall over.  It isn't the traffic jam, or the MOOC, or the wind.  It's just that some things at work aren't going as they should.  I'm not the only one unhappy about it, and what makes it exhausting is the knowledge that it could have been organized so much better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.