Mardi Gras, Fat Tuesday, Shrove Tuesday

Mardi Gras can't come around without me thinking and missing my good ole coon ass friend, Doug  He taught me that expression and what it meant and that it wasn't anything bad!   

Doug taught me several New Orleans traditions and shared his love of English bulldogs with me when he began to bring his 8 week old puppy Carrie to work every day.

Doug's life came to a tragic end and the crazy man left Carrie to me!  Carrie was in bad shape and was more than I could handle, as much as I loved her and wanted her.  Nancy was a true life saver as she took Carrie into her life and shaved years off her.  She became the bullheaded, obstinate thing she used to be!  Carrie ended up living longer than the average life expectancy of English bulldogs.  I still miss both Doug & Carrie though.

Thinking of my two buddies today as there are people dancing in the streets of New Orleans.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.