Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

2017 Saturday -- Interesting Book

A colleague of mine, Dr. Kevin Fleming, wrote this book and when I asked if our college bookstore offers it, he gave me a copy. I am reading through the chapters a page or two at a time. I find it very interesting, but I am not sure I would call it enjoyable because the information is quite staggering.

For years now Americans have trained our children to believe the only successful route to a promising future is to have a university degree. We'll, the facts and figures are surfacing that prove this concept is now not so true in this new world we live in. We have an abundance of college/university graduates with huge loan debt who cannot find jobs. Likewise there are many, many job openings without a viable pool of skilled candidates for the position.

Students don't tend to look for the job/career they want, then investigate that job to see what it involves, and then develop the skills necessary to be productive in that particular field. Instead they pursue the classes needed to get a degree. I don't have Kevin's book with me as I write, so I'll need to do more blipping about it in the future because I'd like to include some of thoughts on this.

Getting a college degree is no longer the "ticket to somewhere." Students must make sure they enter the career world qualified with desirable/necessary skills.

Kevin is the Dean of Instruction over the CTE department here at the college where I teach (Career & Technical Education).

Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.