SueScape

By SueScape

Ganavan Sands, by Oban

Ganavan Sands lies just over the headland from the Anti Submarine Indicator Loop buildings I've blipped before, past Cockleshell Bay. It lies about two miles north of Oban, along the Corran Esplanade, past Dunollie Castle and through Wee Ganavan. I remember camping here once about 1995, but the caravan site was replaced in 2004 by a short lived holiday village with log cabins. The beach is very popular with local people too.

Now there is, looking over the beach, unbelievably, a residential settlement of luxury houses and apartments [too posh to call them flats]. How anyone got permission to do this is beyond reason. There is another wee beach in front of some of the houses, with a long established path down to it. Cynic that I am, I fully expect this smaller beach to become private access only in the next couple of years. A small bit of encroachment appears to be happening already. I put You, Whoever You Are, on notice that I am watching You. [Fierce!]

There is one cause for wonder though. On one part of the headland where I took this pic, there is a seat commemorating the sad death of a young local lad, Craig aged 18. A plaque says "U Wur Sum Buzz Mate". The builder has carefully allowed this seat to stay, the garden wall at that point going round it. I commend the builders for this, if nothing else. Someone's precious memories. The seat is a place I like to sit, though I didn't know Craig, and today it was newly cleaned up and stained, the gravel around the base renewed and several old plants replaced. I like to see that.

Better, as always, in Large.
And yes, that is another ghastly fish farm out there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.