Taking it personally

Today has been mixed.

For weeks, I have provided support, guidance and resources to ensure my students were ready for their coursework. Today, the write up started. The vast majority were well prepared and launched themselves into it wholeheartedly. One student was removed and, despite knowing better, I allowed their actions to really get to me. Two others realised today that they should have worked harder.

Fortunately, I have been able to read through some exceptional pieces of work this evening, as my wonderful, motivated students emailed work to me. That has helped me to get my balance back.

I have worked with young people for long enough to know that they are egocentric at times and that rules and boundaries are often challenged. Most of the time, I don't take it personally. But when I, or other colleagues, have bent over backwards to accommodate, support and provide all of the structures that could possibly be given and that is thrown back in your face with a petulant outburst, it's difficult to find it in myself to be forgiving. I try to be compassionate to others, whether they be young people or my peers and colleagues, or my friends and family. Sometimes it doesn't feel enough. Sometimes, it feels like failing. That's not good.

I think that is probably why I got home, did tea and then got into my pyjamas.

Ah well, tomorrow is a new day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.