The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Countdown

The end of the holidays is here. I start my new job tomorrow, with the first of two INSET days. As usual, I am worrying more about the appropriate clothing than the specifics of the job. I will be changing from working mainly outdoors to mainly indoors, and with less likelihood of getting glue or paint all over me, so it may be that I need to upgrade from jeans and trainers. But I don't get paid for another month at least...

CleanSteve is off to a memorial service tomorrow. We have been getting the tent out of the loft, so that he can camp in Suffolk after the ceremony. I wish I could go too. Not just for the camping: it's a pity not to be able to say goodbye to G with all the others.

Bomble is pretty pleased to see us, and woke me before five this morning to check that I had remembered he'd be needing breakfast! Some wonderful people have been looking after him and the house, so we came home to a tidy place and a contented cat. Some of the rearrangements I'd made before we left, on account of the bookshelves threatening to crack up because they'd got wet, are going to have to be changed again. For a start, there is no room under my desk for my feet...

The sun finally came out about six, and I played in the cabin, but only took a few shots, then played some more on the laptop with them. I am also thinking about doing a course at college in the basics of digital photography, but don't know if it will clash with some work that I may or may not be offered.

This shot's of a plant that refuses to die. A few years ago, the clinic where I worked was going to chuck it on the compost, so I took it home for CleanSteve's plant clinic. After several years it got very unhealthy, so he left it outside for another year or so, without actually consigning it to the flames. Just before we were about to leave, he noticed it had sprouted new leaves! So it has now been moved to the cabin. I don't know what it's called, so I am thinking about naming it Magic Beanstalk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.