The Swiss Wall

We set off early to beat the slush but instead had to battle with the icy. Switzerland beckoned - there was a sign to warn us that unless we took a chair part way down, we'd have to hit the wall, a 90% vertical mogul field. No chance! We saw only two people creeping down.

We had an enjoyable morning - the thumb is pointing to The Swiss Wall behind Mr C. That is, enjoyable till we hit ice at the top of a steep blue. I panicked when I heard a boarder scraping behind me, was not assertive enough with my edge as I turned, and fell - as it was steep, I hurtled 100 metres before coming to a halt when the slope eased off. I'd never have got down as fast skiing it! Mr C hadn't seen the incident, and I doubt he'd have believed me if he'd not seen the snow all over my clothes and goggles.

We headed back to France on a 5 km run, very nice, then did a few more before going back to the cafe opposite our chalet for a welcome beer. Mr C went back out to have a look at a few more runs, but was soon back, sick of the slush.

It has been so hot and sunny today. Just lovely, but grass and rocks are already visible at 2000m.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.