Day 1

.... of Katie's 2017 Music for Youth experience.

Her day started very early. 5am isn't really that much earlier than her usual 545/6 but it feels it! She said to me "mama I just can't sleep, I am so excited!" By the time she arrived at school she had done 30 minutes of theory and nearly 90 minutes of clarinet & piano. She's working so incredibly hard on her exam/festival work.

We cycled to school and she headed in, pleased to not be doing a full day. I picked her up just before 2. She was really pleased I had brought the car for her first trip since we got it back. I took her for her clarinet lesson. She concentrated so well. There's a piece she's learning and when her & B are playing it together, it's just wonderful. They are each having as much fun as the other when they play and it's so gorgeous to watch. The delight on my little lady's face and the amazing bond she has with B makes every second of effort at 7am practising so very worth it.

Katie got changed at Bs ready for the final event of the day- the coy training band's performance for Music For Youth. She had been super looking forward to putting on her very shiny new shoes, her new handmade skirt and her pretty bows all ready. She was so excited she didn't even say goodbye to me as she ran in to their practise room!

They played well & did a great job given a huge number of their members didn't come. I love that however big and clever she gets, there's still a lot if joy to be gotten from a sticker- they all got a big MFY sticker which now adornes her clarinet case. I loved seeing all the different ensembles this afternoon. I rather liked hearing the Junior Orchestra, partly because Katie will probably join in September and partly because they played Dambusters and I have very happy nemories of playing Dambusters at Music For Youth with the Junior Orchestra I played in. She came and sat with me after they'd played. She could easily have gone to sleep, I think.

We made a very quick to the shop (you have to spend a minimum to park). She's recently decided she likes sushi. She chose a pack and wolfed it down in seconds! Sleep took very little time to come tonight for tomorrow she's back for a full day at MFY with her Intermediate wind band and then a London trip awaits!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.