Ooh Ooh Ooh Woah Oh Oh

My Dear Fellow,

I'm gearing up for a quiet Sunday with an episode of Columbo. I prefer the 1970's episodes to the later ones. Men with big ties and sideburns fiendishly constructing elaborate alibis, only to have them broken down by an annoying little man in a raincoat.

Of course today is also chore day which is okay. The chores are a drag but I love listening to music while I do them. I'll put on the iPod and try not to sing along. It is not easy. I mean, I'm always singing along in my head but it's all too tempting to forget and actually do it out loud as well. 

And there are some parts of songs that sound just silly without a full backing band. Take that bit in "Heart of Glass" when Debbie breaks away from the lyrics and goes "Ooh-ooh-ooh-WOOAH-OH-oh!"

No-one needs to hear that out of context from a middle-aged man in his kitchen. People might get entirely the wrong idea about what I'm doing with my Hoover.

I remember being in Pu-Na-Na with Orkney Caro and G-Man about 15 years ago when that song came on. The entire club joined in with that bit and it jolted me out of being drunk because it was such a surreal tribal chant from a group of grown adult people. 

Still, I joined in. Mainly because it allowed me to make that noise in a group without fear of mockery or accusations of indecency. And I have to tell you, it felt good.

* WARNING * No matter how good it feels do not try singing along with "Take On Me" by A-Ha. You'll only hurt yourself.

El P.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.