Saucisson for the table

The above phrase was bandied around over crepes at a bona fide Breton pancake place to say adieu to Adam as it's the last time I'll see him before he relocates to Australia.

Some of my old uni gang appear to have developed tastes that we wouldn't have guessed at fifteen years ago whilst downing pints of snakebite and black and going home with a polystyrene tray of soggy chips, cheese and beans.

They truly were the golden days.

For Adam and his husband the move is a big deal but I felt bizarrely nonplussed and didn't view our parting as a momentous event. I miss many group meet ups because I'm fluffing about in Yambio or Banda Aceh so I may see him at the same frequency and if I continue Indonesia visits 'hopping over' to Oz seems appealing. I also waxed lyrical on returning from Cambodia that the logistics of moving overseas should not be a barrier for people as they're mostly all surmountable with some planning. The rewards of living somewhere different, even if on the surface it doesn't seem such a cultural shift to be in Melbourne instead of London, hugely and massively outweigh the faff of going.

Tomorrow: to Banda Aceh. So a Sunday night of chores and packing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.