Graffiti

Had a lovely evening in Downtown with a friend. Ice cream from one of the popular local places followed by hot lemon and mint in an outdoor kerbside cafe complete with plastic chairs and tables. Perfect for people watching and soaking up the atmosphere of a very down to earth city centre. Surrounded by the most jaded, faded historic buildings that would lure thousands of visitors to any European capital city if they were restored to their former glory. Street vendors try to sell us anything and everything, especially as I'm a rare sight - a foreigner so my companion was a potential customer.

We then walked home through hordes of people, traffic chaos, past hundreds of little local shops and under a huge flyover. Taking in all the sights while I could.

The graffiti was under a bridge which spans the Nile. It was a good 30 minute walk and an interesting chat. If I married her, he said, I'd get a German passport. Do you know how many countries that would get me into? But I don't want to. I don't love her, so my values won't let me. My friends tell me I will regret this later, but I can't. What should I do he asked. So desperate to leave but so difficult to do.

Our buddy is job hunting in Kuwait. If he succeeds, we will do our best to get last night's companion over too.

Insha'allah

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.