Reasons to smile...

By Lauraiea

Great barrier reef

Today was fab. Apart from almost everyone spewing on the very choppy two and a half hour boat trip out to the reef. I didn't vomit! My cousin was so jealous, I felt quite bad she was so ill and I was hiding from sick people up the top of the boat. 

Once we got to the snorkel site all was well! We swam with three big sea turtles and tonnes of fish and coral and generally beautiful underwater stuff. I can't swim well and was scared of fish (well jellyfish to be exact) but was so glad I pushed myself to do it. And also glad I didn't drown. I did struggle a bit against the tide swimming in but the exhaustion was worth it and I knew they'd sent someone to pull me in if I want managing! Also almost drowned myself apologising when I swam into a massive school of fish. Exhausting and I felt like I was on that rocky boat for hours after we got back, but so worth it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.