Shush

Went to GP surgery this morning, not hopeful of securing an appointment.  Initially was told 2 weeks - then when I said that an ambulance had been called for me at work yesterday, miraculously there was an appointment available at 11.20.

My previous GP is now not there, so I have another GP.  An absolute gem of a man.  He took a full history.  Asked lots of questions. Let me tell him all about the various symptoms I have had of late - me thinking that they are all unrelated.  He explained that, in fact, it might all be linked.

So, blood tests next week.  Referral to ENT and to gastro.  Going to be cameras looking at my vocal chords and my stomach.  Other cameras will be going to other locations that I would rather not think about.  Likelihood of either polyps on vocal chords or, more likely, problems with stomach acid which could then be causing the irritation in my throat.  Chest sounds were clear.  The stomach acid could also be causing other problems, hence the suggestion of other cameras.  Additionally, the possibility that there may be some damage to structure of the bowel because of frequent surgery and/or problems because of endometriosis.

So, yesterday provided the kick up the backside that I needed to go and raise my concerns, which now means I can hopefully get things resolved and move forward.  Hopefully without any more surgery.  

In the meantime, no shouting (good job I have that whistle then!), find strategies to reduce talking time, plenty of fluids and an adjustment to one of my meds.

Will be glad to get back into school tomorrow.  One day at home and I am ready to chew my arm off!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.