Quayquilter

By Quayquilter

The Beaney

The Beaney, Canterbury's gallery, museum and library reopened today after three years closure. The original building was a beautiful Arts & Crafts building funded by a townsman who had made very good in Australia. However the library was very cramped and half the lending section was sited up open plan stairs so out of bounds to many. They acquired a hotel next door to pull down and make space and have built out over part of the car park so now it really is a good size and state of the art. Old and new are wonderfully combined. I always used to feel envious when I visited other towns - Norwich, Brighton, Eastbourne etc and saw their super buildings but now the wait was worth it.
I shall try to take a picture every time I go but this is my view as I entered the new side entrance. Wow! I know they received lottery funding which enabled them to do a better job, much appreciated and well worth it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.