Egilsay

Before I return Hamish Haswell-Smith to the shelves, I must think about Egilsay in Orkney where Marjorie is rambling right now.

The incomparable George McKay Brown (my sister-in-law and his were close friends - which is why I have so many signed GMB's) in his novel "Magnus" described the martyrdom of the Saint, who was killed on Egilsay with a single blow to the head by his rival Hakon. (Or to be super-accurate, Hakon's cook!) On the way....

When that the holy season of pasch was overpast, the jarls busked them both for the tryst. The jarl Magnus Erlend's son gathered into two ships leal and trusty and large-hearted men, as many as had been sworn, and held course for Egil's Isle. They sailed upon a calm and a blissful sea-road, but that one billow rose and broke about the helm-bound jarl. Was meikle marvel in the two dove-ships anent that token. And the jarl saith, 'The sign sheweth I fare fast to my life's close. For there will be brought to birth soon a dark foretelling anent the jarl Hakon. Rest ye sure of that. My kinsman Hakon cometh his own gait to this tryst.' Fell then a sudden death-dread upon the ships, and voices that urged return, and hands were held out yearningly towards the hither healthful shore. The jarl Magnus maketh true response, 'Fare yet forward, not I but God is helmsman here.'


According to the sagas, the martyrdom took place after Easter, on April 16 . The year is often given as 1115, but this is impossible: 16 April fell before Easter that year. But some time around then!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.