Lionel Blair

My Dear Fellow,

My favourite part of "I'm Sorry I Haven't A Clue" back in the day when Humph was still with us was the Lionel Blair joke. 

For anyone who doesn't know, Lionel used to appear on a panel show called "Give Us A Clue" which was just charades with 1980's celebrities. But Lionel was definitely the master of the artform. Who can forget how expertly he finished off "Twelve Angry Men" with only one hand in under two minutes?

And how well I recall the gleam in Lionel's eye when he was offered "Howard's End" by Michael Aspel.

This sort of thing makes me laugh a lot because I was brought up on "Carry On" films. Oh all right, one more - 

Lionel's gift for mime was unsurpassed, such as the occasion when he attempted "A Town Like Alice" - and who can forget Una Stubb's amazement when she saw Neville Shute on Lionel's face?

I am very childish which explains how I made myself laugh out loud today in texting you. You tend to prefer WhatsApp whereas Er Indoors prefers traditional text. It is all too easy to mix you up if you are both texting me at once which is why I asked you to pick up some milk on your way home this morning.

Naturally you queried this text and I realised my mistake. And then I sent you a follow up text saying, "It is a good thing you and I are not having an affair or I would undoubtedly have blown it by now."

It was an honest mistake, but when I read it back to myself I was ROCKING with laughter.

Stupid of me, I know. But Humph would have approved. Bless him.

El P.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.