bananablip

By bananablip

Managing expectations

This morning I ran the parkrun again, even though I hate it. I'm hoping that the discipline of the timed run will help me improve but I've decided that I just prefer longer distances. Best time of the year so far but still nearly a minute off my PB.

Straight out for a day of house-hunting. I'd timed everything to perfection allowing travel time between the four houses and a lunch stop. This was immediately derailed when a (rather dippy) agent didn't have the right key to the first property. Onwards to the next but with a little bit of time to kill so we stopped off at the St George's coffee morning and met the new vicar. First house viewed, it was back to 95, The Cottage. SS and I had viewed this one in the glorious sunshine last week and it had stolen my heart so it was time to see if it could keep my heart on a grey and drizzly day. It did! Honestly, I think I was sold on it when I stepped into the garden last week so today served only as a confirmation. I tried to be enthusiastic about the next two houses but my heart was already won.

Onto pizza express for a pizza, a prosecco cocktail and a debrief. Phil and Kirsty wanted me to call and make an offer right there and then but I left it till I got home and the estate agents had closed. I'm excited about making an offer on Monday but after everything that happened with the last property, I'm really trying to manage my expectations. Cautiously excited is the look I'm trying to pull off, while sat on the sofa with home magazines and furniture catalogues scattered around me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.