LifeLines

By LifeLines

April Showers

The plum tree at my allotment is in bloom. I planted the tree last Spring and didn't allow any of the fruit to develop so as to encourage it to put its energy into establishing itself. I am hoping that this year I might get some fruit.

Dark clouds were never far away today, big black foreboding ones. But, we got away with no rain at all. This meant I got plenty done in the garden, de-mossing the lawn, cutting the grass and weeding.  Then I walked up to the allotment to sow some spinach. The seeds are a few years old so I am not sure if they will grow, but I thought it worth a try.

Last weekend I heard my first chiff chaff of the year. This week during my lunchtime walks in the woods I have heard them again, along with willow warblers. I love it when the migrant birds start to return for spring.  Apparently I have been lucky to hear them as so far this year not many have arrived as there hasn't been a high pressure system stretching from the continent up to the UK during the last few weeks - they would use this for their passage. This changes this weekend so more will no doubt arrive.

I hope you have all had a good Saturday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.