Snow Down Under

By snowy

ANOTHER LOVE !

I haven't put up a dahlia this year, & lest you think I only grow Hydrangeas, here are a few to show you. Some of them look very similar, but I can assure you they are all different. It is a bit late in the season & some of them are very tatty. One or two I had to 'prop' up to take a photo ! The majority are grown in my garden by the cottage, which is overflowing with miscellaneous plants, including paeonies, & irises........I do have another group up by the hen run, which absolutely no one sees.......I have this fixation, if I have a bare piece of land, I simply must plant something ! Oh, & there are rows in my husbands vegetable garden ! My dahlias this season have thrived on neglect, they desperately need dead headed & tied up; despite this, they have provided me with cut flowers for the house all summer. It is for this reason I grow them (& keep on buying them !) When the frosts come we will tuck them in with a thick covering of pea straw, which is their winter 'comforter'.......I never dig them up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.