momcat1

By momcat1

Beak licking good suet

I will have to stop putting out the suet one of these days but the woodpeckers do so enjoy it. The redbelly woodpecker here actually still has the tip of its tongue out  though it is hard to see. He has been flying around all day being quite noisy, but not drumming. Actually I am surprised as I have not heard much drumming going on yet from the woodpeckers. They usually start on the neighbors aluminum downspouts about this time  of year. A few years ago one was banging on the stop sign down the street. The louder the drumming the better the mate. Why , I don't know but I guess the female woodpecker does.This one is all decked out in shiny new brilliant red feathers on the head and the belly ( not visible).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.