Take Two

Did not go to work, especially to the seminar.  Decided not to because I was convinced it was not going to be worthwhile.  Beat up my own head, which was telling me to go, but preferred that to scolding myself for regretting that I went.  It's so easy to tell myself, 'Oh you dumbell, why don't you just go and get it over with.  It's not the end of the world,' but I always hate myself afterwards for falling for the trick.

Hubby went to the house, as he's done the past few days, armed to the teeth with garden tools and cleaning aids.  According to him, aside from the garden, the previous owners also neglected the freezer, which they left behind, and the kitchen was a lot dirtier than we thought.  So much for ideal housekeeping.  And to think we have been cleaning our entire house, the old one, all these years!

Tonight, with my heavy head gone, I drove to the music hall in Eindhoven to watch Loreena McKennit with her trio.  I have all her music and she is just magical, warm, and 'true'.  This is a shot of her flyer for the evening. Eindhoven was the last stop on her European tour this year and I was sure I'd miss her, but, after all three concerts in Amsterdam were sold out, she decided to organize an extra in Eindhoven as there was just so much response.  It was 50% cheaper, 66% closer to home, and there was 80% less traffic.  The first time I attended was at the World Forum in The Hague in 2007 and I knew that wasn't going to be the last time.  I did not bring my camera because it has always been a rule at her concerts that photographs may not be taken.  Change of rule tonight -- she actually announced a photographic moment while she was on stage playing 'Twinkle Twinkle Little Star'!  So everyone twinkled with their cameras and had a good laugh, and that was that.  You can be sure I will bring the camera next time ... because I do intend to go again next visit.  What a magical evening it was!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.