Docadiem

By Kathee

SHADES OF A BROKEN TOE

Gotta wonder why I said it out loud.
That boastful statement, made during a before dinner toast.
Something about this being the blissfully best summer ever. Plus,no surgeries, accidents or trips to the emergency room.

A few nights later, in the dark, my toe slammed into a wooden ottoman. Earlier in the day, I'd rearranged the family room furniture. This piece wasn't returned it's spot in front of a matching rocking chair.

That Sunday, I walked 18 holes, but by Wednesday, I had added a 'Frankenstein shuffle" to my step.

Dr. Lipke declared it a "simple break", not the splintered fracture he had suspected.

Now, we're headed to Meeker, Co. for the Sheep Dog trials. Then to BLM land, near Maybell, in search of wild horses.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.