Licensed to Chill

By 007Roo

Central hospital remembered

I had a trip into Warwick this morning which is approximately 3 miles away.
I called into the post office and as the library was in the same building I decided to look around.
I'd been after a book for ages but had been told it was out of production and the only copy was in the library .
I asked behind the counter about villages around Warwick and their history mainly wanting to know about Hatton.

We live approximately 0.5 miles from Hatton in a hamlet called Hatton Green.

The main village of Hatton is now a large housing estate but it was once the central hospital in 1852 the first patients were admitted but it wasn't a general hospital it was an asylum that housed the mentally ill.


The estate it self was well over 230 acres and consisted of a number of farms it's own coffin makers a number of Drs residence a bakers and a church.

One of the Drs was called William Parsey who graduated from Kings cross in 1844 and made lunacy his special subject.He died in 1884 his obituary reading No man was better known to all who are worth knowing in the county of Warwickshire he is buried at Holy Trinity which I look over from my house, his daughter presented a stained glass window in memory of her parents to the church.

Roo and Lily and I took a stroll up there this afternoon but sadly the church was locked.
I don't think this is the said window I'm sure it was a smaller one but we will have to go back when they are having a service.

Lots of reading to do now!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.