Waggons roll.....

A day of cattle coming and going.
Got a text  this morning to say the lorry would be in to collect the 18 bullocks I sold last week for Aberdeenshire at 11.30am. It arrived at 12.15 ! By the time we had them loaded and away it was past bothering with lunch time.
An afternoon spent with paperwork and notifying the movements off the holding for said 18 blks. Every time a beast comes on or off you have to send its ear tag number to a central database at Workington where they record the movement history of every cattle beast in the UK.
When I checked my spring calving cows at tea time tonight I discovered a Belgian Blue cow with a pair of feet sticking out . Eventually managed to get her chased in and get her calved with the help of the calving jack.
A muckle big dopey bull calf. He still hadn't got up and sucked by tonight so had to milk the cow and feed him.Of course sucking would have been too simple,so eventually gave up and stomach tubed him. You never know,I might go out in the morning and he will be standing sucking the cow. There again I think I just saw a pig fly past the window !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.