Simply Me

By Suze981

My first day (back) at university

I spent my day being inducted into Glasgow Caledonian University. I decided, a while back (however misguided) that i'd like to be a public health researcher. So I applied for a couple of places to study a masters degree in Public Health, and applied for a bursary from work.

I got into every university I applied for and I ended up choosing Glasgow Caledonian for a number of reasons:

1. They have the biggest health and life sciences department and masters programme.
2. Feedback from friends told me that they were more vocational than academic. I'm interested in actually doing the job, not learning the theory behind it, and
3. I can do the majority of it online and so can work full-time while studying.

I got the bursary from work, which means that they pay 50% of my course fees and they're letting me trial compressed hours to fit in a dedicated study day each fortnight.

So here I am, on my first day, being inducted. It's been 8 years since my last masters degree. Universities haven't changed much in that time. The technology, library and student support seem a lot more advanced, but the other students seem a lot younger!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.