Going to the Chapel

I took a walk to Lidwell Chapel today. I've been there several times before and if asked, I'd say I could get there blindfolded. Somehow I completely missed it yesterday, no idea how, something must have disorientated me. Anyway, no trouble today, it's only half a mile off the road downhill all the way and it's a beautiful valley when you get down there as you can see if you look at the extra.

Lidwell Chapel dates back to the 14th century I believe and is named for the well, Lady's Well which still produces enough water to make it pretty boggy there. There's only one wall left standing and of course there are lots of legends, mainly about a monk who preyed on young women and left their bones in the well, or something like that. It is fairly overgrown but is surrounded by railing to keep the local live stock out. I've put up some more here if you'd like to see them.

I took the first steps in replacing Blanche, my lovely T5 campervan with a newer model today. We went down to the campervan shop and made enquiries, we'll see how that all works out in due course.

I'm putting it in for Derelict Sunday which is hosted by Marlieske this month. 

PS the Exif data is cobblers. It was my 8mm fisheye again at f8

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.