Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Easter bunny

Well, the fitness programme begins in earnest, after it was derailed a bit. I decided that I should re-join the gym, and if I make use of it at least three times a week, then I'm in profit. JR has toyed with the idea of joining a new gym with very cheap memberships. It has yet to be built, but keeps being delayed, so she has restarted with Ed Leisure. And so today, we both went!

Included in the membership are 'over 700 fitness classes'. But 99.9% of them I just couldn't do. Though I quite fancy the one where you're biking in the swimming pool...

It was hard going in the gym this morning - it's weird how some days I just can't keep going. But the pool looked very inviting - it was practically empty, with sunshine pouring in through the glass roof. Perhaps I should start aquafit again, as I'm paying for it, and it's the only class I can actually go to.

Elizabeth took Archie to Cramond on the bus and walked right along the coast back to Newhaven, stopping for coffees and ice creams on the way. What a grand day out he had.

While he was away galavanting, we nipped out to Ikea. JR had an urgent desire for a small dressing table stool, and sure enough, we found one - £3! Even with another couple of items, we've never spent such a small amount there. My reward for walking all that way round the shop - it's miles - was two ice creams (they're very small).

We're just watching 'The Book Thief' on TV (though I think the book must be better) and indulging a little bit of Easter chocolate. Archie did not get any, of course, but he's so tired he doesn't care.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.