West Norwood blips

By KandCamera

Looking up

This beautiful dome ceiling is in the Islamic Arts Museum. My lens wasn’t quite wide enough and I had to lay on the floor to fit this much of it in the shot. My friend N took a photo of me taking this and I didn’t realise until she sent it to me! There was some interesting stuff in the museum, especially the calligraphy and jewellery. There were also models of some of the most important Mosques around the world. It was interesting to compare them. And to see the model of Mecca since I won’t be seeing it in real life. (Saudi Arabia is at the bottom of my list of countries to visit, mostly because I wouldn’t be able to force myself to comply with all their restrictions on women so I’d probably get myself arrested within 10 minutes of arriving!)


In the afternoon we went to the Central Market which has clothes and crafts and when it cooled down in the early evening we went to the botanical gardens. They cover a large area with several lakes. A very nice place to walk and we weren’t able to see nearly all of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.