Completed!!

This quilt was started in November ’14, as the collection of elephants, for my memory quilt.  This blip explains the background to my plans.

This book was so helpful and easy to follow, not sure where I found it!!

The first completed block is here and was a tribute to the Aussie and NZ ladies that I’d met on a cruise in the Baltic. They got me hooked on an alternative method of using paper, yellow pages!!

At this stage I had no idea that we would be moving up to Lincoln the following year and on reflection, I’m not sure how I would have achieved this end result if we had stayed in our old house. It would have probably been a much smaller quilt.  

I now have a workroom, space and a bigger sewing machine. The spare bed has its own room, rather than being a bed settee in the room I used as an office, workroom and accommodation for visitors. (The expression “unable to swing a cat” comes to mind). Not that I would do such a thing, I only cuddle cats :0)
 
Meeting up with the ladies who “sew” locally has been brilliant. So willing to share information and help one another, with their extensive knowledge of patchwork and quilting.
 
Even though the quilt is complete, this is not the end of the story. Many of the patches have history and this needs to be documented for when the quilt is passed on. I will make a material bag for storing the quilt, when required, and the journal.
 
Elephants started the story and are there at at the end, accompanying the makers label!! (in extras)
  
How do I know all these details? Well Blip, of course, what would I do without it!!
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.