SueScape

By SueScape

Kilmartin

We were at Kilmartin today, a fantastic glen in so many ways. Plus really love the food at the Archeological Museum Café. Had a go at everything you can have a go at in the museum, and found I am pretty good at grinding corn, though it would take me so long to produce enough flour for a loaf of bread that we'd likely die of hunger.

Across the road from the museum, Kilmartin Churchyard has a host of wonderful gravestones, ancient and modern and everything in between. This is a favourite, erected by Neil McCallum, a mariner from Bellanoch [western end of the Crinan Canal] in memory of his father, Robert McCallum, a blacksmith from Balimore who died in 1838 aged 59.

I do like stones illustrating the life of the departed. Makes me wonder what stone carving would aptly illustrate my life. The mind boggles... :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.