Almost

About 300 meters away, a tractor was already busy harvesting.  If this field isn't gone by tomorrow, it certainly won't make it to the weekend anyway.  Why do they do this?  The flowers themselves are top heavy, obviously.  Cutting off their heads will mean enormous energy savings for the rest of the plant so most of the nutrients in the soil will go to the bulb and it will increase in size and resistance, and if this happens to millions of bulbs, hopefully, next seasons's blooms will be healthier, more robust, more resistant to disease.  Now if only governments would do the same thing.

Worked at home today.  There were no presentations and a lot of what I had to do could be done with my own laptop.  Replied to mail, updated my own files, started calculating marks, and even made a couple of phone calls.  The day began, however, with a drive to the new house with hubby.  S, the bridge guy, who is a building contractor of sorts, took a look at the kitchen per hubby's request, and helped straighten out some of the shelves, and otherwise told hubby how to repair some other things that weren't quite right.  During the couple of hours that they were busy, I finished retouching the large wall I did last weekend.  Now THAT is done, except for an area near the floor plints which I've already covered with tape to prevent smear next time.

These fields were visited in the afternoon, when I decided to take a break from the office work.  Trips to the fields don't take long, and I'm used to driving around the place anyway, but there will come a moment soon when they'll be gone and so I'm just taking advantage of the few days left.  I love these blooms and they won't be back till next year.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.