Nothing happens here...

By StuartDB

Half church of God, half castle 'gainst the Scot

We've been looking for a place to retire to and Durham City keeps coming up on the horizon. I've known the City all of my life and I never tire of its beauty, history, vibrance and memories. Seems these days the University has bagged all the best views but who knows, we keep looking.

And what better view to wake up to every remaining day than something like this. I love this place.

In this view from Prebend's Bridge the Cathedral and Castle overlook the River Wear. The bridge in the distance is Framwellgate (pronounced 'Framelg't) Bridge and the building behind it is on the site of the old Durham Ice Rink.

Just visible on the right down by the river bank is a building that was once the Museum Cafe. My grandparents used to take me their as a special treat for fish and chips. I guess it's all water under the bridge now.

We went up the Cathedral tower this afternoon. I haven't done that for 50 years! The 325 steps seemed no easier than the last time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.