Dear diary

My Mum has a folder of precious letters, speeches and cards from over her lifetime.  According to Dad she has been looking through it a lot lately.   He had only recently become aware of it's existence.

After Mum had gone back to bed at 7.30am (we were up before 6am for breakfast!) I settled down with a coffee to look through it. Near the front I found a piece of paper from 1961 in which she writes about her feelings for Jimmy (my Dad).   Since he had not yet proposed to her she wonders about whether she should finish with him and go out with 'Philip'.  

Aged 24, she says in her diary that she loves Jimmy very much.

It is their 55th Wedding Anniversary on Friday (less than a year after this note was written), so he must have proposed soon after.   I'd say she picked the right man, a right good 'un as they'd say in Oldham.

xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.