Annie and Chris

By AnnieAndChris

Charity Begins at Home

With Annie away on her degree course revision weekend, I (Chris) had to step up to Olympic Torch duties this afternoon.

Annie had been asked to attend a fund raising event arranged by a 10 year old son of a local fellow school governor. This enterprising young boy has run an annual event in his parents back garden for a charity of his choice for the last 3 years. Each year he picks a charity he's come into contact with. This year he'd chosen a local charity supporting schools with provision of sports equipment, very apt given the high profile for sport this year. In Annie's absence Immy, Rosie and I took the torch and guests gave a donation to have their photo taken with it. We also purchased tombola tickets and participated in a variety of Olympic related challenges! Charity needs people like this and we were happy to support.

The sky was looking like a good source for a blip today, clouds and plane trails giving lots of interesting shapes and patterns.

Edit from Annie: After 7 years with the OU, my Psychology degree will be coming to an end in a month with my final exam. I'm genuinely sad to be finishing (relieved also), as I've met some great people, learnt some very interesting things and had a revisit of student days. Tonight I ate, drank and discoed like there was no tomorrow (although I know there is a tomorrow as I'm writing this from its early hours). It's been a degree taken purely for fun and interest, although Chris would be the first to tell you it's been for stress and near-deadlines more often. It's been great, and I have one more month of revision hell before freedom. 11th Oct, here I come. Fingers crossed!

I'd like to thank now my 2 participants who were part of this year's project on the life experience of using blip - I got a good mark and it sets me up well for the exam. Thanks you two - you know who you are!

[Tonight the other event in the Uni Conference centre was "Autumn Residential Tax Update Conference Dinner". When people in suits snuck into our event I adopted an accountant and made him dance at the disco...]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.