TreeHugger

By TreeHugger

Cave Pearls

A beautiful specimen of yet another formation in these amazing caves.  Dollykgray has put up some stunning pics of the shawls, stalactites, stalagmites, etc. The Cave Pearls are spherical and develop in saturated pools.  The calcite forms around the nucleus, such as a tiny pebble or grain of sand. Calcite crystal builds up as the pearls are agitated mostly by drops of water falling from the cave ceiling.
Jenolan Caves is a must see for anyone visiting Australia. I look at what man has created over years  of civilisation - it doesn't compare with what nature has taken millions of years to produce. The beauty of my surroundings today has had a deep emotional impact.  I am relieved to say I had no difficulty climbing the hundreds of steps we negotiated within the caves but also in exploring the vertiginous surroundings.
Thanks to Mr. Hobbs as team leader and to my fabulous Blip buddies Trisharooni and Dollygray (see extra). 
I am continuing to tag my back Blips #WWmeet as I think I can only link these entries to a current journal entry, so check us all out on that tag.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.