twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

And out for the day. Kinda. 

After a school drop off, I was onto the bike and off. JC my colleague is off work; tending to her dying dad so I copped for her work she'd booked in for the morning. She's no real understanding of routing, that's for sure. From Longstone, up the hill to Colinton Mains and then to the next visit. At Longstone. And then - from there to - where's handily placed? Oh yeah. Halfway down Leith Walk.... 

Still, keeps me fit. The afternoon was better paced. (And I got a lunch with her, saying hi etc)

I meandered through EH6 and timed it to perfection to grab the little ruggers from school and we all went home to prok ginger lime coriander chill burger wraps with wedges and a pile of salad. And some strawberries too.

There's something about Longstone, a yearning for the deprived inner city childhood I wanted but never had as I grew up in fields and forests and farmyards. I long for the sterile blandness of the repetition, the back gardens with retired men cleaning their golf clubs and the women folk endlessly laundering the laundry. All safely enclosed in back gardens bordered with boarded up fencing. And mothers with prams, dogs, fags and phones and frankly not enough hands for them all at the same time. Ah yes. Longing for Longstone. The poor man's Wester Hailes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.