Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A bearded nun...

I had fully intended getting up early and going down to get some morning shots of the blossom in the Meadows - it's at its best and has outlasted all the winds so far. But I didn't manage it. Nothing to do with the gins and proseccos last night...

But I was very annoyed that I didn't take my camera out this morning when I took Archie out later. I could hear a racket - raucous music, not unlike the religious procession music that was played at full tilt in a wee bar covered in religious paraphernalia in Granada.

Then I saw them. About a dozen nuns, one with a beard, also a bishop and several very pregnant young girls, not to mention a few boys dressed as prostitutes (presumably). They were parading around the streets. Apparently the local 6th formers have finished formal lessons. Would have made a good photo.

Went to the gym, but didn't manage my full circuit. Sometimes I just can't be bothered, but I feel I'm doing it often enough to be of benefit, so I excuse myself readily.

Archie had his yearly vet check up this afternoon. He is SO resistant to going there now. But he was happy when we stopped off at Blackford Hill after the event. What a nice day it was - warm(ish), no wind, fabulous clouds. JR and Archie then walked home while I drove.

I found a pair of shoes that I haven't worn for ages and they feel perfectly comfy. I've worn them all day. Wonder why I discarded them? I may find out later, but I'll keep going. I'm expecting crampy toes any time soon, but fingers crossed. I really shouldn't need to buy new shoes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.