twa craws feet

By donald

I'm in a new place ....

.... and it's got a washing line, well, a rotating one,
and I can't remember having one before, not of my own.
In fact I have no memory of having hung out washing before,
only on an indoor pulley.
So, at 68, it's a new skill to learn, pegs and that,
especially when I can show off to the Rabbit,
who I have to pretend I don't see.
It feels like being 14 again, showing off,
pretending I don't see Jean Grant at the school dance.

Also it's great to see my socks together
and see there are not so many olive green ones as I thought.
I've been worried for a while
that I was only losing the other colours
and would, one morning, have to wear matching olive socks
because I didn't have anything else.

I've not worn matching socks since that security guard,
searching me at Colorado Airport,
complimented me on my odd socks.
She had a wonderful bluesy voice
that has rolled around in my chest ever since.
I know, wearing cowboy boots, no one ever sees my socks
like she did, but I know they are there, waiting to be discovered:
Say I got knocked down by a bus or something,
maybe a nurse in hospital, or in a mortuary,
when they took off my boots I hope it would be a nice surprise.
They have a difficult job these folk;
you feel you should do something for them.
So odd socks might be quite cheery,
not something that would traumatize or haunt them
or keep them awake at nights.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.