Live it loud!

By Lostpixel

Glorious morning!

It really was a lovely morning to be out (relatively) early.

Jonathan had a football match away in Brinklow, a village I pass through to and from work each day. I would never have known that there was a fantastic sports field behind some of the lovely old houses there. This was the first league match of the season.

While the boys were warming up, I went for a walk across the fields to capture the feeling. It was gorgeous clear light. I took a few here and then a walk down one of the streets.

I got back to the match about a minute after they started and then within two minutes Jonathan was off with a torn hamstring. He is terribly quick so I suspect always likely to injure himself like this, but so early in the match I suspected he hadn't warmed up properly. Afterwards, he let on he'd been feeling it a few days but had said nothing. Anyway, after 3 minutes his season is on hold for a few weeks.


The boys ploughed on and were 2-0 down at half time but pulled back to 2-2 early in the second half. They were playing much better than recently but still not well enough. Too much hit and hope. I suspect a lack of confidence to play the ball. They'll get there. Quite a few new players and some whose fitness needs to impove too. Situational awareness needs some work. In the end they lost 4-2 but each game is an improvement.


Back home it was ice-packs to help reduce swelling. An excuse to sit around all day watching Kerrang!..... Boys.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.