The Daffodil Rubber Ducky Derby

Dear Diary,

This is an annual event in Cornish, a fund raiser for the local historical society.  The weather couldn't have been more perfect.  The children lined the bank of the stream with their duck calls quaking and the announcer was so funny making it sound as if were about to witness the Kentucky Derby!

The little ducks got up some good speed since the stream was really raging with all the winter snow melt.  Some children stood ready on the sides of the stream with sticks to be sure no duck got stuck in the bushes and just like the Kentucky Derby, it was over in a few minutes but a good time was had by all.

When I got home I picked my first bouquet of daffodils from the garden to put on my breakfast table in honor of all the cheerful little participants in this year's derby. (extra)  It was the perfect way to celebrate spring and it reminds me of a favorite first grader's joke, "What happens when a duck flies upside down?  They quake up!"  I loved how my students, who were just beginning to learn about how to tell a joke, would run up to tell me their latest.  I do miss that part of teaching.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.